Already have an account?
Get back to the
Books

If You Love Outlander, You Will Love These 12 Steamy, Spellbinding Books

Brimming with adventure, romance and magic, Outlander fans will love these book recommendations!

When international bestselling author Diana Gabaldon first published Outlander in 1991, she had no idea how successful and beloved her story would become! Her hit book series, about a British combat nurse named Claire Randall who time travels to 1743 Scotland and meets a devilishly handsome Scot named Jamie Fraser, has millions of dedicated fans across the globe. Then, her story was adapted into an immensely popular TV show on Starz and the fandom only exploded further. Now in its seventh season, Outlander fans are patiently awaiting the second part of the most recent season to release. If you’re one of them, we have excellent news for you! To tide you over, we rounded up 12 must-read books like Outlander.

Want to time travel from current day Seattle to 16th century Scotland and meet a hulking hero named Hawk? Check out Into The Wildnerness by Sara Donati — which Diana Gabaldon herself described as “one of those rare stories that let you breathe the air of another time.” If you’re more interested in a magical 19th-century duology that transports you to Egypt, dive into What the River Knows by Isabel Ibañez. Keep reading for the rest of our captivating picks!

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
Dell


Of course we just had to start off this roundup with Outlander — it’s only right! An unforgettable romance and complex characters abound in the first book of Diana Gabaldon’s acclaimed Outlander series. In 1945 Scotland, former British combat nurse Claire Randall embarks on a second honeymoon with her husband. While there, she stumbles upon a standing stone in one of the ancient circles, and suddenly, she turns into a Sassenach — an “outlander” in the year 1743. Now, her only chance at survival is a handsome young Scots warrior named Jamie Fraser. What follows is a fiery battle of wills, time, hearts and, ultimately, love.

What readers are saying: “Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander Series is one of the best I’ve ever read. Each character is so fully realized that they become friends that matter to the reader! It is truly magnificent.”

Related: ‘Outlander’ Season Seven Has Arrived! Here’s Everything You Need To Know

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Mariner Books

Spellbinding and deeply romantic, author Audrey Niffenegger captures readers’ hearts in this iconic time-travel novel that was made into both a major motion picture starring Rachel McAdams and an HBO TV series. The story follows dashing librarian Henry DeTamble who is an involuntary time traveler, but when he meets artist Clare Abshire, his life changes again. Soon, the two marry and embark on a passionate adventure across time, hoping that Henry’s condition won’t rip them apart. This novel is perfect for fans of science fiction, romance and magical realism!

What readers are saying: “Wow. Just simply wow. I loved the movie, perhaps one of my favorites, so I jumped at the chance to read the book. I was blown away, and not just by the style of writing, which is unique and original. The story was so much more complex, more so than normal book-to-movie comparisons. For that alone, you should read the book.”

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass
Bloomsbury Publishing

This thrilling tale follows Celaena Sardothien, Adarlan’s greatest assassin. After being sentenced to a life in prison, Celaena gets the chance of a lifetime: to compete against 23 other murderers, thieves and warriors in a deadly competition. The prize? Her freedom, unimaginable riches and a chance to serve as the King’s Champion. But when an outside force even more deadly turns up, Celaena must decide what truly matters.

What readers are saying: “Celaena’s wit, humor and strength had me cheering for her from the get-go,” says Carey Ostergard, Woman’s World Executive Editor. “Plus, it’s the first of a series — I can’t wait to read more!”

Divine Rivals by Rebecca Ross

Divine Rivals by Rebecca Ross (books like outlander)
Wednesday Books

Compelling characters, hopeful story lines and unforgettable love stories full of longing…this tale has it all. When Iris Winnow’s life is falling apart, she finds solace writing letters to her brother who’s away at war. But when the letters magically vanish and wind up in the hands of Roman Kitt, her handsome newspaper rival, the duo form a connection that changes their world. Perfect for fans of magical realism and soulmates.

What readers are saying: “I don’t think there are enough words to describe how much I loved this book. The abundance of emotions I felt whilst reading this incredible story was extraordinary. This book is recommended for those who enjoy reading this particular kind of genre and are looking for a deep and personal connection with the book’s storyline and its characters. So, if you enjoyed reading books like Outlander and Belladonna, then you’ll definitely love this one.”

The Cloisters by Katy Hays

The Cloisters by Katy Hays
Atria Books

In this stunning debut novel, the story centers on Ann Stilwell. Ann is focusing on her summer research at The Cloisters museum in New York. But after discovering a set of 15th-century tarot cards, her research becomes a tangled journey into medieval mysteries. Before long, Ann is drawn into a dangerous game where the past and the present mix, propelling her on a risky quest for truth and survival. Hays’ vivid imagery and unique blend of genres creates a deeply atmospheric reading experience!

What readers are saying: “When I came across this book set at The Cloisters, a New York City museum that houses a hauntingly beautiful collection of European medieval art and architecture, I was intrigued,” says Katie Riley, Woman’s World Social Media Editor. “This book is full of suspense and dark surprises — I was on the edge of my seat.”

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout (books like outlander)
Blue Box Press

Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout stuns in this enthralling, action-packed tale. The plot follows Poppy, a key member of the royal court. Chosen from birth, Poppy has always been ‘The Maiden,’ and the future of the entire kingdom rests on her shoulders…but this is a responsibility she’s not sure she wants. As she prepares for Ascension, a golden-eyed guard named Hawke enters her life and soon destiny gets tangled up with duty and desire. A thrilling otherworldly adventure of vengeance, love and fate.

What readers are saying: “For an otherworldly escape, I love diving into fantastical stories,” says Melissa D’Agnese, Woman’s World Senior Editor. “If you enjoy epic adventures and crackling chemistry between two characters, you will be captivated by this dreamy saga.” 

Related: 12 Must-Read Romantasy Books That Guarantee a Swoon-Worthy Escape

What the River Knows by Isabel Ibañez

What the River Knows by Isabel Ibañez
Wednesday Books

A whimsical, adventure-filled fantasy begins in 19th-century Buenos Aires. When Inez Olivera receives word of her parents’ deaths, she inherits their massive fortune and a mysterious guardian. Wanting answers, she sails to Cairo with a golden ring her father had sent her before he passed. As she arrives, the magic connected to the ring leads her to uncover secrets and the truth about her parents’ disappearance. What the River Knows is the first book in the Secrets of the Nile duology.

What readers are saying: “I cannot believe that ending! This was such a beautiful book and makes we want to jump on a plane and go straight to Egypt. I absolutely love Inez and Whit!”

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (books like outlander)
Penguin Books

This dazzling debut centers on university historian Diana Bishop, a young scholar and a descendant of a very powerful line of witches as she tries to discover the secrets of an ancient enchanted alchemical manuscript called Ashmole 782 with the help of Matthew Clairmont, a 1,500-year-old vampire. To unlock the book’s mysteries, the two travel back in time to 1590s England. An astonishing, mind-bending fantasy.

What readers are saying: “This is one of the most creative paranormal fantasy books I’ve ever read. Book one ends on a cliffhanger, so be prepared to read the series through to the end. I bought the Kindle version of this first book back in May. I was only a few chapters into it when I purchased the print version of the series. That is how much I loved this book. I do not know how you could read only one book! I’ve been reading late into the night.”

Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati

Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati
Delta

Set in December of 1792, Elizabeth Middleton flees her English estate to join her family in a remote mountain village in New York. Here, she meets a man named Nathanial Booner who lives among the Native Americans near her village — and he is unlike anyone she has ever met. What’s more? This book is beloved by Diana Gabaldon herself, who described it as: “One of those rare stories that let you breathe the air of another time and leave your footprints on the snow of a wild, strange place. I can think of no better adventure than to explore the wilderness in the company of such engaging and independent lovers as Elizabeth and her Nathaniel.”

What readers are saying: “Such strong characters with such magnificent attention to details…I found this story totally captivating and consuming. And to bring into the story the characters from Gabaldon’s Voyager and Drums of Autumn series was a delightful and brilliant surprise. Absolutely phenomenal.”

Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning
Dell

Time travel? Check! Strapping Scottish hero? Check! A feisty heroine who dazzles said hero? Check! Bestselling author Karen Marie Moning’s Beyond the Highland Mist remains a steady favorite among Outlander lovers. In the first book of this series, Adrienne is magically transported from present day Seattle to 16th Century Scotland, where she is forced to marry a Scottish hunk named Hawk. Adrienne vows to keep this man at a distance, but the growing and undeniable attraction between them is wreaking havoc on her plan.

What readers are saying: Beyond the Highland Mist is the first book in Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series. Stubborn and lusty Scottish warriors have been a literary delight of mine since I first read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series when I was 19. While I would say that each series is in a class separate from one another, both have been quite enjoyable reads for me.”

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
William Morrow Paperbacks

Described as “a very beloved series by Outlander fans,” Paullina Simons’ The Bronze Horseman enchants with its exquisite writing and heart-wrenching, heartfelt scenes. Set in Leningrad during the summer of 1941, the Metanova family is living a difficult life as Hitler’s armies attack Russia and start their blitz to Leningrad. Sisters Tatiana and Dasha Metanova share a single room in an apartment with their brother and parents and their reality is bleak. Then Tatiana meets Alexander, a brave, handsome young officer in the Red Army, and the light shines in a little bit. But Alexander holds a dangerous secret that is just as devastating as the war itself. A sweeping, epic wartime saga.

What readers are saying: “The love between Tatiana and Alexander was epic. It compares to that of Claire and Jamie in Outlander. It is a true, soul-wrecking love story. The kind of love people only hope to experience in their lifetime. A love that ruins a person for all other people. I can’t say enough good things about this novel. I want more, but I want to soak up this story and live in it a little longer before I start the next book.”

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow (books like outlander)
Redhook

Riveting drama, beautiful prose, dreamy settings, magical portals…this enchanting novel has it all! January Scaller lives in a palatial home filled with odd treasures. One day, she finds a mysterious book. This book carries the scent of other worlds and holds the key to secret doors. What follows is a discovery leading January to other worlds…worlds that are intertwined with her own in ways she never could’ve imagined.

What readers are saying: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow. It’s some of the most beautiful modern prose I’ve ever encountered and it reminds me of Outlander because of the portals. It’s the best novel I’ve read in the last decade, honestly.”


For book recommendations and book content, check out these stories:

11 Time Travel Books Guaranteed to Provide a Magical Escape

15 Captivating WWII Novels — These Historical Fiction Reads Will Transport You

12 Must-Read Historical Romance Novels to Tide You Over Until ‘Bridgerton’ Season 3!

Kristin Hannah Talks About Her New Novel ‘The Women’ + How She Went From Attorney to Bestselling Author

Use left and right arrow keys to navigate between menu items. Use right arrow key to move into submenus. Use escape to exit the menu. Use up and down arrow keys to explore. Use left arrow key to move back to the parent list.